Best School Speed Limit Signs for Clear Outdoor Traffic Warnings

The best school speed limit sign depends on the posted speed you need, how visible the sign must be, and how you plan to mount it. The options below include reflective aluminum signs for 5, 10, 20, and 25 MPH limits. The 10 MPH signs are best for lower-speed areas, while the two-pack 25 MPH option suits buyers who need two signs. These products are not necessarily official traffic-control signs; check local requirements before using one on a public road.

Product Best For Notable Feature
10 MPH Reflective Aluminum Sign Low-speed areas 12 x 18 inches; reflective film
Joffreg 20 MPH Signs Two-location coverage Two reflective aluminum signs
Locmorly 5 MPH Sign Very low-speed areas Compact 8 x 12-inch size
T&R 25 MPH Signs Buyers needing a pair Two pre-drilled holes per sign
Sigo Signs 10 MPH Sign Day-and-night visibility Reflective surface and UV-resistant ink

10 MPH Reflective Aluminum Sign

12 by 18 inch reflective 10 MPH aluminum speed limit sign

Check Price on Amazon

This 10 MPH sign is best for a school, private road, or property area where a low posted speed is appropriate and a larger sign face is useful. It measures 12 by 18 inches and is made from reflective aluminum. The listed engineering-grade reflective film is intended to catch light, while bold lettering and UV-printed ink support readability and outdoor use.

Why it was selected: It combines a commonly useful low-speed message with a relatively large format and reflective construction. The listing also describes the sign as rust-resistant and designed to resist bending.

Limitation: The product information does not specify mounting hardware. Confirm the mounting method and applicable local sign requirements before installation.

Joffreg 20 MPH Signs, Two Pack

Joffreg reflective aluminum 20 MPH signs, two pack

Check Price on Amazon

Choose this two-pack if you need to post a 20 MPH limit at two points, such as separate entrances or approaches. Each sign measures 17 by 12 inches and uses reflective aluminum. The product description says its wording is designed to withstand sun, rain, and other weather without fading, and it describes installation as easy.

Why it was selected: The pair is useful when one sign may not provide enough coverage, and the reflective surface can help make the message more noticeable when illuminated by headlights.

Limitation: The listed speed is 20 MPH, so it is not the right choice if your site requires a different posted limit. Check whether mounting accessories are included before ordering.

Locmorly Compact 5 MPH Sign

Compact reflective 5 MPH aluminum speed limit sign

Check Price on Amazon

This 5 MPH sign is best for very low-speed settings where the selected limit is appropriate, such as a controlled private area. At 8 by 12 inches, it is more compact than the 12-by-18-inch options. The listing highlights reflective colors and graphics for visibility from a distance and fade-resistant printing intended to retain its appearance.

Why it was selected: It offers a distinct 5 MPH message in a smaller format, giving buyers an option when a larger sign is not practical.

Limitation: Its smaller dimensions may be less suitable where drivers need to read the sign from farther away. The listing does not provide installation details or included hardware.

T&R 25 MPH Signs, Two Pack

T&R 18 by 12 inch 25 MPH speed limit signs, two pack

Check Price on Amazon

The T&R set is best for buyers who need two 25 MPH signs. Each sign measures 18 by 12 inches, and the listing specifies two pre-drilled holes at the top and bottom to assist with installation. The package includes two signs but excludes attachment items such as screws, zip ties, and nails.

Why it was selected: Its two-sign quantity and pre-drilled mounting holes make it a practical choice for locations that need signs at more than one approach or entrance.

Limitation: You will need to obtain suitable fasteners separately. Confirm that 25 MPH is the correct limit for the location before posting.

Sigo Signs 10 MPH Reflective Sign

Sigo Signs reflective 10 MPH aluminum speed limit sign

Check Price on Amazon

This Sigo Signs option is best for buyers seeking a 10 MPH message with reflective material for both daytime and low-light visibility. Its listing describes rust-free aluminum, a reflective surface, and UV-resistant inks intended to resist fading, cracking, and peeling in outdoor conditions.

Why it was selected: It provides another 10 MPH choice, with product details specifically emphasizing weather-ready graphics and visibility when illuminated.

Limitation: The supplied product information does not state the sign’s dimensions or describe pre-drilled holes. Check those details if size or mounting style is important.

Buying Guide: How To Choose A School Speed Limit Sign

Which posted speed should you choose?

Start with the speed limit established for the property or road. The products here display 5, 10, 20, or 25 MPH; those numbers are not interchangeable. On public roads, school zones, or other regulated areas, confirm the applicable requirements with the relevant local authority. A sign’s appearance alone does not establish that it meets official standards.

What sign size and visibility do you need?

Compare the sign dimensions with its intended viewing distance and location. The 8-by-12-inch sign is the most compact option listed, while several alternatives measure 12 by 18 inches or 17 by 12 inches. Reflective material can help return light toward its source, but placement, lighting, obstructions, and viewing angle also affect how easily drivers can read a sign.

Do you need one sign or a pair?

A single sign may suit one approach, while a two-pack can cover separate entrances or directions. The Joffreg and T&R products are listed as two-packs. For the T&R signs, the listing specifies pre-drilled holes but says fasteners are not included. Check the product details for installation needs before ordering.

What should you verify before installing?

Confirm dimensions, mounting points, attachment hardware, and the surface or post where the sign will be secured. Consider whether the selected sign is intended for private property or an official roadway application. For a public street or school zone, follow local rules for sign wording, placement, size, and authorization.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are these signs official school-zone traffic signs?

The product information does not establish that these signs meet official school-zone standards. Verify local requirements before using one on a public road or regulated school zone.

Which listed sign is the smallest?

The Locmorly 5 MPH sign is listed as 8 by 12 inches, making it the smallest specified option in this selection.

Which options come as two-packs?

The Joffreg 20 MPH sign and the T&R 25 MPH sign are both listed as two-packs.

Do reflective signs work at night?

Reflective material is designed to return light, such as light from vehicle headlights, toward its source. Actual visibility depends on placement, illumination, weather, and viewing conditions.

Are mounting fasteners included?

The T&R listing says attachment accessories are not included. For the other products, the supplied details do not clearly confirm whether fasteners are included, so check the listing before purchase.

Scroll to Top